Jackson County High School Art Show

The Southern Hills Arts Council is proud to showcase the works of Jackson County’s High School students. The annual event, created by SHAC Board Member and former Jackson High School art teacher Bob Eisnaugle, features artwork submitted by each of the three county high schools from the top ten pieces in their own school’s art festivals.


Shown above from the left are JHS sophomore Caylee Rader, Jackson Superintendent Phil Howard, WHS senior Kiersten Henry, Jackson Board of Education member Pat McDonald, OHHS senior Christen Waldron, JHS senior Robert Booth, OHHS junior Miranda Shirk, OHHS junior Wes Mullett, OHHS junior Amber Fox, OHHS art instructor Lesley Ahern, JHS art instructor Shaun Gentry, and WHS art instructor Julie Beaudry.

Lilly O. Goldstayn Best of Show Award

The 2016 Lilly O. Goldstayn Best of Show winner was Skylar Kinnison, a junior at Wellston High School. Her piece entitled “Overwhelmed” was a graphite and white conte on toned paper. Kinnison earned a $100 cash prize for her achievement.

Lilly, who was born in Estonia in 1925, came to the U.S. following WWII and married Bernard Goldstayn. After years of teaching in the Cleveland and Dayton areas, the couple found their way to Jackson. While in the area, Lilly not only pursued her own artistic muse, but also shared her love of the arts with others teaching classes at the University of Rio Grande and in Jackson County, many of which were held through the Southern Hills Arts Council. Lilly was one of SHAC’s strongest supporters, always encouraging the practice and appreciation of the arts.

Additional 2016  Show Results

Those students earning first place at each of the respective high schools were given $50 cash prizes. These students were Ian Parana, a junior at Jackson High School, for his polymer clay piece entitled “Solitude;” Rhiannon Cinereski, a senior at Oak Hill High School, for her charcoal piece entitled “Rachel;” and Nioka Thacker, a senior at Wellston High School, for her scratch art piece entitled “I See You.” These cash prizes were sponsored by Gerry Bowman, Stephen Michael, and Dr. Doug Jones, respectively.